A Short Nostolgia

Splattered Shorts3.jpg

Splattered Shorts.jpg

Splattered Shorts5.jpg

I’ve had this pair of shorts since I was 13 years old. They didn’t even start out as denim cut-offs but rather just a plain old pair of jeans from the kids section. I still remember taking a pair of scissors and cutting the legs off. As a typical middle school girl, I wanted to make them as short as possible without my bum falling out. But, thankfully, my mother stopped me ( as my skanky wardrobe desires would soon pass within a year or so). Then, I took this new (or old) addition out on the lawn and splattered it with the spare wall paint I found in my basement.

The first day I wore my cool, new creation, I strutted down the 7th grade hallways. While the other kids were clothed in Hollister and Abercrombie, I was wearing something I MADE! I still may not have been the coolest kid in the school, but I sure felt that way.

Four years later (and probably no inches taller) I still have this pair of shorts. Of course, things have changed. 13-year-old me would have pulled the waist down to my hips and rolled the ends up. Now I like the high-waisted look and NOT the butt-flashing look. But as things have changed, the creativity and confidence of the splatter-painted denim cut-offs remains.

Hugs & Kisses,

Olivia

Splattered Shorts6.jpg

 

44 thoughts on “A Short Nostolgia

  1. Pingback: Perfectly Flawed | An Itty Bitty Ditty

Riddle Me A Ditty

