Perfectly Flawed

Splattered Shorts6.jpg

Remember this photo from A Short Nostolgia? Well, shortly after that post came out, I decided to stop procrastionation station over here and start doing my art summer projects. Of the three I had to do (seriously, do I get no summer break?!), one of them had to be a self-portrait.

I’m familiar with self-portraits. Over the past several months, I painted myself twice. Once was with acrylic which kind of turned out awful. One eye looked quite normal while the other one looked as if I had gone a little too heavy on the eyeliner. The other portrait was to redeem the other portrait with waterpaint. This one turned out okay, to say the least. At this point in my short art career, painting others was out of the question. I didn’t want to offend anyone else in case they turned out to have an unintentional moustache or unibrow.

A little tired of painting myself (or doing any sort of art project of myself) I turned away from the paints. Instead, I thought I’d try a little mosaic style project using a grid system and tiny pieces of September’s Vogue magazine. (Has anyone seen that issue? The size of that thing is cutting a little close to be another Harry Potter book….)

Anyway, after 3 glue sticks, a half-torn magazine, and 2 weeks worth of a dirty kitchen table later (my mother is super happy I’m done hogging our dinner table)….

Vogue mosaic art project self portrait

It’s a shame you can’t see the real thing because the colors are so much bolder and richer. (To be honest, it looks 10 times better in person.) I’m actually really happy with the turn out. No drama-llama eye or accidental beard going on here. This project was a lot of fun to do, especially the hair where there are dark blue peices throughout. And thankfully, I only have one more project to crank out before Wednesday when school starts up again. (Ohmygosh cry.)

Also, a quick shout out to Mihaela from Fashion And Love By Mihaela. Basically, we’re kind of, unknowingly, twins. Within days of each other, we posted outfits of ourselves in dungarees. It’s actually really uncanny how similar they are! Check out her Dungarees At Work for a similar version of my I ❤ My Bike version. What can I say? Great minds think alike 😉

Hugs & Kisses,

Olivia

46 thoughts on “Perfectly Flawed

  1. How cool is that?! I absolutely love the self-portrait. It is so creative and you did a great job recreating the picture! I am not very artistic, so I am not sure how my own self-portrait would turn out… 🙂

Riddle Me A Ditty

